3 Diverse Books for Babies - Tuma's Books

3 Diverse Books for Babies

It's never too early to get the tiny one hooked on books, especially with diverse representation. Here are three diverse board books for baby's first library or as gifts.

The Making of Butterflies by Zora Neale Hurston and Ibram X. Kendi

A First Folktale from the creators of Magnolia Flower, Zora Neale Hurston and Ibram X. Kendi, about the origin of butterflies.

The Creator wuz all finished and thru makin' de world.

But soon, the Creator finds themselves flying through the sky, making gorgeous butterflies of every color, shape, and size.

Find out why butterflies were made in Zora Neale Hurston's stunning and layered African American folktale retold by Ibram X. Kendi and illustrated by Kah Yangni. This accessible and sizable board book is perfect for introducing the youngest of readers to the beauty of Hurston's storytelling and will spark curiosity in children about how things in our world came to be.

Our World: Mexico by Cynthia Harmony

Spend a day in Mexico with a baby and their family, from huevos in the morning to settling down for dulces sueños at night. Mexican author Cynthia Harmony and illustrator Claudia Navarro draw on their lived experiences in Mexico to create an authentic picture of modern Mexican life as part of the Our World Series for very young readers.

Happy to Be Nappy by bell hooks and chris raschka

The groundbreaking picture book by legendary author bell hooks and Chris Raschka that celebrates hair is perfect for fans of Hair Love and I Love My Hair!
Happy with hair all short and strong. Happy with locks that twist and curl.
Just all girl happy! Happy to be nappy hair!
Nominated for an NAACP Image Award, here is a buoyantly fun read aloud brimming with playful -- and powerful -- affirmations.

 

All three titles are amazing first books for any baby's library. Also makes great baby shower gifts! 

Happy Reading!

~ Tuma

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.

  • Celebrating Disability Pride Month with Inclusive Reads!

    Celebrating Disability Pride Month with Inclusi...

    Happy Disability Pride Month! This is a perfect time to reflect on and celebrate the diverse narratives of disabled authors and stories featuring disability representation.

    Celebrating Disability Pride Month with Inclusi...

    Happy Disability Pride Month! This is a perfect time to reflect on and celebrate the diverse narratives of disabled authors and stories featuring disability representation.

  • Review: A Fox in My Brain by Lou Lubie

    Review: A Fox in My Brain by Lou Lubie

    A graphic novel memoir that is a heartwarming yet difficult sharing of the author's experiences with cyclothymia, a mood disorder.

    Review: A Fox in My Brain by Lou Lubie

    A graphic novel memoir that is a heartwarming yet difficult sharing of the author's experiences with cyclothymia, a mood disorder.

  • Review: Womb City by Tlotlo Tsamaase

    Review: Womb City by Tlotlo Tsamaase

    Set in Futuristic Botswana, there's microchips, multiple life spans, and a murderous ghost. If you like science fiction that requires you to buckle in for the ride, then Womb City...

    Review: Womb City by Tlotlo Tsamaase

    Set in Futuristic Botswana, there's microchips, multiple life spans, and a murderous ghost. If you like science fiction that requires you to buckle in for the ride, then Womb City...

1 of 3