Ir directamente a la información del producto
1 de 1

Tuma's Books

Nightbloom by Peace Adzo Medie

Nightbloom by Peace Adzo Medie

En existencias

  • Binding: Paperback
  • Representation: Ghanian
  • Genre(s): Literary Fiction
Precio habitual $18.99 USD
Precio habitual Precio de oferta $18.99 USD
Oferta Agotado
Los gastos de envío se calculan en la pantalla de pago.

From the author of His Only Wife, this moving novel about the unbreakable power of female friendship follows two estranged women in Ghana who reconnect in a crisis.

When Selasi and Akorfa were young girls in Ghana, they were more than just cousins; they were inseparable. Selasi was exuberant and funny, Akorfa quiet and studious. They would do anything for each other, imploring their parents to let them be together, sharing their secrets and desires and private jokes.

Then Selasi begins to change, becoming hostile and quiet; her grades suffer; she builds a space around herself, shutting Akorfa out. Meanwhile, Akorfa is ac-cepted to an American university with the goal of becoming a doctor.  Although hopeful that America will afford her opportunities not available to her in Ghana, she discovers the insidious ways that racism places obstacles in her path once in Pittsburgh. It takes a crisis to bring the friends back together, with Selasi’s secret revealed and Akorfa forced to reckon with her role in their estrangement.

A riveting depiction of class and family in Ghana, a compelling exploration of memory, and an eye-opening story of life as an African-born woman in the US, Nightbloom is above all a gripping and beautifully written novel attesting to the necessity of female bonds in the face of societies that would silence them. This assured follow-up to Peace Adzo Medie’s much-heralded debut is perfect for readers of The Girl with the Louding Voice, Americanah, and Of Women and Salt.

Additional Book Details

Pages: 368

Binding: Paperback

Publisher: Algonquin Books

Pub Date:

Language: en

Ver todos los detalles

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)